Lagrange Award

Lagrange Award - Multibody System Dynamics Outstanding PhD Thesis Prize

The Lagrange Award was established in 2017 by the IFToMM Technical Committee for Multibody Dynamics and Springer with the aim of recognizing the outstanding achievements of a young researcher (under 35 years old) at the early stage of their scientific career.

The Lagrange Award is presented annually by the IFToMM Technical Committee for Multibody Dynamics and Springer's journal Multibody System Dynamics to recognize the most successful PhD thesis on Multibody Dynamics over the prior year as judged by the evaluation committee. The winner will receive a certificate, a one-year subscription to Multibody System Dynamics, and Springer books to the value of € 250. The decision will be announced during a Multibody Dynamics conference supported by IFToMM.

The Award Committee is composed by four members, namely the coordinator and three senior researchers in the field (proposed by the award coordinator and approved by the IFToMM TC for Multibody Dynamics).


Every researcher who presented a PhD thesis related to the Multibody Dynamics field and got it approved at a University or Research Organization during 2022 qualifies for the award and can submit an application.

The applications must be sent by e-mail to the award coordinator, Dr. Francisco J. González Varela (

Applicants must include

  • a copy of their PhD thesis (in English),
  • a curriculum vitae, and
  • a maximum of three publications related to the thesis content.

Closing date for applications: April 30th, 2023
Decision on the winner: July 15th, 2023

The Award will be presented during the closing ceremony of MULTIBODY2023, the 11th ECCOMAS Thematic Conference on Multibody Dynamics, which will be held in Lisbon on 24-28 July, 2023.

Past awards

  • 2017 - Reza Sharif Razavian (University of Waterloo, Canada) and Sergio Conde Martín (Universidad Politécnica de Madrid, Spain)
  • 2018 - Claudia Latella (Istituto Italiano di Tecnologia, Italy) and Pedro Antunes (Instituto Superior Técnico, Portugal)
  • 2019 - Albert Peiret (McGill University, Canada)
  • 2020 - Filipe Marques (Universidade do Minho, Portugal)
  • 2021 - Henrik Ebel (Universität Stuttgart, Germany),    Honourable mentions: Svenja Drücker (Technische Universität Hamburg, Germany) and Xinxin Yu (LUT University, Finland)

Lagrange Award

Contact information

Francisco J. González Varela
Laboratorio de Ingeniería Mecánica
University of A Coruña
Ferrol - Spain

Supported by

   Laboratorio de Ingeniería Mecánica
   University of A Coruña